THIRSTERS: A Retrospective

As someone that has always had an interest in making things of all types, it’s a really eye-opening experience to take a peek into a creative process you know nothing about. I’ve recorded music, drawn and painted pictures, built sculptures from all kinds of materials, but I know next to nothing about film. This lack of cinematic knowledge might be more apparent if you saw my taste in movies that could be very generously described as “simple”. If there are gratuitous explosions, car chases, choreographed fights, and characters that would make caricature artists cringe, you can more than likely assume that if I haven’t seen it, I would have no qualms about dropping two hours to make sure I did.

That’s why I found it so surprising when one of my best friends recently asked me to help him by appearing in his short film, a “mockumentary” that chronicles a fake making-of for one of his actual early film projects. Regardless of being uncharted territory, I always jump at the opportunity to see and be a part of what people are passionate about, much less someone I respect. The reason I love to be a fly on the wall is because even though you can get to know more about people by asking questions, nothing is a more honest representation of someone’s thoughts than seeing how they go about making something, and how that process colors their attitude. Before I knew it, I was reading a script to be one of a few main characters in “THIRSTERS” by Miles Reed.

Whether it was watching Michael Bakowski work his magic behind a camera or Miles and Colin Sullivan work on improving the script, I got to learn a lot about what makes a film good, or more importantly, what ruins one. Things like audio slip past the attention of most people because every day we hear the world exactly as it is. When you are trying to take the sound, look, and general atmosphere of a moment and capture it forever, you’re attempting to wrap up every element of life in one perfect package that not only is accessible on demand, but also gives all of the context of personally experiencing something, which is hard. In spite of the challenges that come with this task, seeing my friends sink hours upon hours of time into getting it right not only strengthened my respect for each of them, but also helped me appreciate that any movie ever gets made. It’s also really helped me to be able to enjoy movies I could have never sat through before.

The perks of this have already begun to benefit other areas of my life as well, since I have been able to draw inspiration from creators and creations that would have never been a part of my life before my horizons expanded. I guess what I really want to convey with this post is that new experiences are a huge part of what it takes to keep growing as a person. It can definitely be easy to get bogged down in routine due to the unforgiving and crazy nature of life, but I challenge anyone who reads this to try one new thing a month. Go to a yoga class. Try to cook a dish unlike anything you’ve made. By this time next year, you’ll have twelve new perspectives to view your life through, and by the time you’re reaching the next chapter of your life, you’ll have wisdom that only comes from living a life worth living.

As for THIRSTERS, the film has only had one small premiere as of yet, and is still to make an appearance at the Fort Worth Indie Film Festival, so I won’t give any details away, but I hope that everyone has as great of a time watching it as I did being a small part of it coming together. Whenever Miles is ready to share THIRSTERS with the internet, I’ll be sure to add it here as well, so stay tuned for that by following me on Twitter.

Thanks for reading.

13086877_10205764320176444_1304766837394809738_o

Leave a Reply

